Mort Neufville, PhD

Mortimer Neufville is President & CEO of the 1890 Universities Foundation. Mort previously served as President of Coppin State University from 2013 to 2015 and prior to that, as Interim President of the University of Maryland Eastern Shore (UMES).

In 1998 Mort was appointed Director, of Federal Relations-Food Environment and International Affairs at NASULGC (now APLU). And later was appointed Executive Vice President. He retired from APLU in 2008.

Neufville held a number of positions at UMES, including Vice President for Academic Affairs, Associate Director of the Maryland Agricultural Experiment Station, Acting Vice President for Academic Affairs; Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs; 1890 Research Director and Dean of Agricultural Sciences, Project manager for the Cameroon Root and Tuber Food Crops Research Project funded by USAID and the Government of the Republic of Cameroon, where UMES served as lead institution. He also chaired the HBCU International Liaison Officers Committee and provided leadership for four projects funded through the Egyptian Universities Linkage Program.

Neufville served on the Board of the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA), and was Board Chair 2004 – 2006. His service on global food and agriculture boards includes a number of high-impact organizations including serving on the ACDI/VOCA Board of Directors and Board Chair for 10 years, and the Board of the International Fertilizer Development Center (IFDC) where he also served for 10 Years. Other related organizations benefiting from Dr. Neufville's extensive experience include his work on behalf of the US/India Agriculture Knowledge Initiative, and the Food Systems Leadership Institute Commission. In 2021 he was selected to serve on the prestigious World Food Prize Council of Advisors.

Neufville received his B.S. degree from Tuskegee University and his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Animal Science from the University of Florida, Gainesville. He was awarded the Honorary Doctor of Science degree by Tuskegee University on February 4, 2001, and the Distinguished Alumnus Award by the University of Florida on December 15, 2001. He was inducted into the International Continuing Education Hall of Fame in 2008.