APLU Food Systems Leadership Award

The Association for Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) Food Systems Leadership Award annually recognizes a senior leader who has made an extraordinary impact on the food system through leadership and service and who exemplifies the core principles established by the Food Systems Leadership Institute (FSLI), including personal leadership, organizational leadership and food systems leadership. The award also recognizes the leadership, innovation, engagement and service that APLU promotes through its programs.

The APLU Food Systems Leadership Award will be presented at “A Community of Scholars Honoring Excellence” award program at the APLU Annual Meeting held in November. The award program honors awardees for regional and national excellence in Food and Agricultural Sciences from colleges and universities across the United States. The meeting is attended by top level administrators from the 216 university memberships within the APLU as well as administrators from USDA and FDA. The recipient will be invited to address the current cohort of FSLI Fellows at one of their residential sessions.

The deadline for submittal is April 9th.

Award Criteria Nomination Form

Congratulations to our Past Awardees

Gail Imig

Gail Imig received the award in 2014. She presented to Cohort 11 Fellows at the NC Session in the fall of 2015.

Gale Buchanan

Gale Buchanan received the award in 2015. He presented to Cohort 12 Fellows at the NC Session in the fall of 2016.

Roy Arnold

Roy Arnold received the award in 2016. He presented to Cohort 13 Fellows during the California session.

Catherine E. Woteki received the award in 2019.  She will present to Cohort 16 during their first year of the program.

Vic Lechtenberg

Vic Lechtenberg received the award in 2016. He present to Cohort 14 Fellows during the North Carolina Session.

Dr. Sonny Ramaswamy

Sonny Ramaswamy ​received the award in 201​7. He presented to Cohort 1​4 Fellows during the California Session.

Robert Easter

Robert A. Easter received the award in 2018.  He will present to Cohort 15 Fellows during their first year of the program.